Our governance

The National Lottery Community Fund is a Non-Departmental Public Body, created by the National Lottery Act 2006. The Department of Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) is our sponsor Department and alongside the Devolved Administrations in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland can issue us with Policy Directions, which inform our funding strategy.

As a UK funder, we have four country committees who make decisions about our funding priorities across England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. These committees work with the Devolved Administrations and our staff teams based in communities across all parts of the UK to ensure our funding is for everyone.

Our Board is made up of nine members including the Chairs of each country committee. The Board Chair is appointed by DCMS.

Our Chief Executive is the Fund’s designated Accounting Officer, with responsibility and accountability to Parliament for the use of public money and the stewardship of public assets. As well as these constituted responsibilities, the Chief Executive is an important leader for not only the organisation but the many communities and projects we support and the partners we work with.